Just a quick question

Discussion of general topics related to the new version and its place in the world. Don't discuss new features, report bugs, ask for support, et cetera. Don't use this to spam for other boards or attack those boards!
Forum rules
Discussion of general topics related to the new release and its place in the world. Don't discuss new features, report bugs, ask for support, et cetera. Don't use this to spam for other boards or attack those boards!
Post Reply
jbsb1106
Registered User
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Sep 17, 2001 1:44 am
Location: Texas
Contact:

Just a quick question

Post by jbsb1106 »

I have installed the latest cvs to play around a little bit and to see whats new...

and I get this message...

[quote]Sorry but the board is temporarily unavailable, please try again in a few minutes[/quote]

no matter what I do I get this message

does anyone have any ideas what causes this and how I can correct it?
so I can play around a little bit :). I appreciate any time and suggestions. Thanks
Hear me ROAR......peeeeeep
User avatar
psoTFX
Registered User
Posts: 1984
Joined: Tue Jul 03, 2001 8:50 pm
Contact:

Re: Just a quick question

Post by psoTFX »

That occurs whenever the load or session limit is exceeded ... if you cannot reach the admin panel you'll need to manually change the limit_load and/or active_sessions configuration variables (in the config table). Set them to 0 to ignore load/session limits (active_sessions is "off" by default, i.e. set to 0). Remember to delete the cache/global.php file.

Consider this is a one off freebie ;) Support isn't usually given for CVS versions.
jbsb1106
Registered User
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Sep 17, 2001 1:44 am
Location: Texas
Contact:

Re: Just a quick question

Post by jbsb1106 »

lol...Thanks for the freebie :wink:
Hear me ROAR......peeeeeep
SilverSnake8
Registered User
Posts: 34
Joined: Sat Mar 01, 2003 2:18 pm
Location: Rhode Island, USA

Re: Just a quick question

Post by SilverSnake8 »

how 'bout one more freebie :wink:

i'm tring to install on lycos and i just get a white screen after filling in everything and clicking install (hopefully that will change by time for release) can some one just post what the config.php file should look like so i can play around wiht it myself.
Image
Yea, so I don't like Bush! :P
User avatar
SHS`
Registered User
Posts: 1628
Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2001 9:13 am
Location: The Boonies, Hong Kong
Contact:

Re: Just a quick question

Post by SHS` »

"phpBB 2.1.x is the development branch of the next major release of phpBB2. It introduces a significant number of core changes to various routines and functions as well as the database schema. We heavily recommend that you do not use these snapshots unless you are very comfortable with manual database work, editing of PHP files, etc. Absolutely no support is offered for phpBB 2.1.x releases, not even Milestones.

Things may well be (very!) broken from time to time, do not post asking when these will be fixed, you'll receive no answer."

:D
Jonathan “SHS`” Stanley • 史德信
phpBB™ 3.1.x, Bug/Security trackers
phpBB™ Bertie Bear 3.0 — prosilver Edition!Asking Questions The Smart Way
SilverSnake8
Registered User
Posts: 34
Joined: Sat Mar 01, 2003 2:18 pm
Location: Rhode Island, USA

Re: Just a quick question

Post by SilverSnake8 »

SHS` , I am not asking when it will be fixed, i'm just asking someone who has it up and running to post what their config.php look like.
Image
Yea, so I don't like Bush! :P
User avatar
Acyd Burn
Posts: 1838
Joined: Tue Oct 08, 2002 5:18 pm
Location: Behind You
Contact:

Re: Just a quick question

Post by Acyd Burn »

A standard config.php looks like:

<?php
// phpBB 2.x auto-generated config file
// Do not change anything in this file!
$dbms = 'mysql';
$dbhost = 'localhost';
$dbport = '';
$dbname = '<database name>';
$dbuser = '<database user>';
$dbpasswd = '<database password>';

$table_prefix = 'phpbb_';
$acm_type = 'file';
$load_extensions = '';

define('PHPBB_INSTALLED', true);
?>

Change the values accordingly.
User avatar
SHS`
Registered User
Posts: 1628
Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2001 9:13 am
Location: The Boonies, Hong Kong
Contact:

Re: Just a quick question

Post by SHS` »

$load_extensions?

That's a new one... what's that for? :P
Jonathan “SHS`” Stanley • 史德信
phpBB™ 3.1.x, Bug/Security trackers
phpBB™ Bertie Bear 3.0 — prosilver Edition!Asking Questions The Smart Way
User avatar
psoTFX
Registered User
Posts: 1984
Joined: Tue Jul 03, 2001 8:50 pm
Contact:

Re: Just a quick question

Post by psoTFX »

If your server doesn't by default make available the mysql module (for example) then phpBB can load it for you. It only functions on servers which allow user dl().
User avatar
SHS`
Registered User
Posts: 1628
Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2001 9:13 am
Location: The Boonies, Hong Kong
Contact:

Re: Just a quick question

Post by SHS` »

Ah righto, I was assuming phpBB modules, though admittedly config.php would be a slightly odd place to put it. :D

PHP modules make far more sense. :D
Last edited by SHS` on Sat Apr 12, 2003 3:30 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Jonathan “SHS`” Stanley • 史德信
phpBB™ 3.1.x, Bug/Security trackers
phpBB™ Bertie Bear 3.0 — prosilver Edition!Asking Questions The Smart Way
Post Reply