Cache

All style (template, theme and imageset) related questions for the new release; advice, feedback here please.
Scout128
Registered User
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Mar 21, 2006 2:48 am
Contact:

Cache

Post by Scout128 »

I do not understand the new system of cacheing.
Could someone please explain it to me?
Thanks.
Don't forget kids when your scared press [ctrl]+[w]

All content related to and announced by Scout is hereby unless otherwise stated his, and shall not be duplicated or distributed without written permission. Scout's awesomeness is subject to change without warning. All trademarks and logos are probally not Scout's but thehuzzah.com is and is subject to be awesome without notice. All rights reserved. No trade backs. And pinky swear.

Graham
Registered User
Posts: 1304
Joined: Tue Mar 19, 2002 7:11 pm
Location: UK

Re: Cache

Post by Graham »

The simple answer is that the first time a template is used, it is loaded and "compiled" into PHP. On subsequent uses of this template it uses the compiled version which gives a performance improvement over parsing it directly each time

PS. Please remove your animated avatar
"So Long, and Thanks for All the Fish"

Graham
Eeek, a blog!

User avatar
DarsVaeda
Registered User
Posts: 87
Joined: Thu Feb 03, 2005 11:15 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Cache

Post by DarsVaeda »

is there a pruning function i haven't found yet?
"They say time is the fire in which we burn."

TerraPedia.org

Scout128
Registered User
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Mar 21, 2006 2:48 am
Contact:

Re: Cache

Post by Scout128 »

Yes I understand that but In the ACP I use the link to cache the templates (after I have edited it) and nothing happens.
Don't forget kids when your scared press [ctrl]+[w]

All content related to and announced by Scout is hereby unless otherwise stated his, and shall not be duplicated or distributed without written permission. Scout's awesomeness is subject to change without warning. All trademarks and logos are probally not Scout's but thehuzzah.com is and is subject to be awesome without notice. All rights reserved. No trade backs. And pinky swear.

User avatar
pentapenguin
Registered User
Posts: 618
Joined: Sun Jul 18, 2004 6:07 pm
Location: GA, USA
Contact:

Re: Cache

Post by pentapenguin »

DarsVaeda wrote: is there a pruning function i haven't found yet?
Yes it's in the admin panel.
Scout128 wrote: Yes I understand that but In the ACP I use the link to cache the templates (after I have edited it) and nothing happens.
There's no visible difference but your site will be a bit faster.
phpBB.com Support Team Member and Incident Investigation Team Member
My phpBB MODs || Professional phpBB Customization, Transfers, and Conversions

User avatar
EXreaction
Registered User
Posts: 1555
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 2:15 am

Re: Cache

Post by EXreaction »

Quick question about the cache...don't want to make a new thread as it would be a waste I think...

Can I turn off the cache, if so how?
(would make modding much easier ;))

Yawnster
Registered User
Posts: 342
Joined: Sat Jan 29, 2005 9:18 pm
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: Cache

Post by Yawnster »

EXreaction wrote: Quick question about the cache...don't want to make a new thread as it would be a waste I think...

Can I turn off the cache, if so how?
(would make modding much easier ;))
Load Settings -> Recompile stale templates

Yawnster..

User avatar
EXreaction
Registered User
Posts: 1555
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 2:15 am

Re: Cache

Post by EXreaction »

Doesn't work. :(

Yawnster
Registered User
Posts: 342
Joined: Sat Jan 29, 2005 9:18 pm
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: Cache

Post by Yawnster »

EXreaction wrote: Doesn't work. :(
*shrugs*.. Waiting time I suppose..

DarkD45
Registered User
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Feb 28, 2006 7:29 pm

Re: Cache

Post by DarkD45 »

i was looking for it too, i didnt find it yet... maybe i'm not looking in the right place but it really makes creating even a simple template that you want to view to make sure its correct for tweaks quite anoying :D

Post Reply