global announcement mod sql??

Want to share what MODs you've gotten to work with EM? Happy about all the time your're saving? Want to say "thanks"? Here's the place.
Forum rules
DO NOT give out any FTP passwords to anyone! There is no reason to do so! If you need help badly enough, create a temporary FTP account that is restricted to only the files that you need help with and give the information for that. Giving out FTP information can be very dangerous!
Locked
danielc2384
Registered User
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Nov 02, 2007 1:07 am

global announcement mod sql??

Post by danielc2384 » Mon Nov 05, 2007 11:20 am

Ok. Today was the first time I installed a mod and so far no errors.

I installed the global announcement mod and I think it installed correctly because if I go to the Admin CP is shows up fine.

The proplem is the SQL part. In the install.txt file it says:

#
#-----[ SQL ]------------------------------------------------
#
INSERT INTO phpbb_config (config_name, config_value) VALUES ('global_title', 'Global Announcement');
INSERT INTO phpbb_config (config_name, config_value) VALUES('global_announcement', 'Any important information relating to this site will be posted

here!');
INSERT INTO phpbb_config (config_name, config_value) VALUES('global_enable', '0');
INSERT INTO phpbb_config (config_name, config_value) VALUES('marquee_disable', '0');




I'm not to sure what to do there. Do I execute that SQL statement? If so how would I do that?

Thanks

User avatar
Raimon
Former Team Member
Posts: 67
Joined: Sun Mar 19, 2006 1:21 pm
Contact:

Re: global announcement mod sql??

Post by Raimon » Mon Nov 05, 2007 12:05 pm

Easymod install automatic the sql update if you give easymod the command to.
But to answer your question you must put the codes into your phpmyadmin under the tab sql and hit the go button after that, you might like to read the article ; Knowledge Base - How to Install MODs

danielc2384
Registered User
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Nov 02, 2007 1:07 am

Re: global announcement mod sql??

Post by danielc2384 » Mon Nov 05, 2007 12:37 pm

Thanks for the info. I just managed to find the phpMyAdmin lol

Im getting this error when I process the SQL code.


Image

User avatar
Raimon
Former Team Member
Posts: 67
Joined: Sun Mar 19, 2006 1:21 pm
Contact:

Re: global announcement mod sql??

Post by Raimon » Mon Nov 05, 2007 12:48 pm

Probably the prefix is different, check your forum database, on the example its a empty database , you will find a table called something_phpbb the something is the prefix, so the sql query would be ;
Example;

Code: Select all

INSERT INTO something_config (config_name, config_value) VALUES ('global_title', 'Global Announcement'); 

User avatar
Lumpy Burgertushie
Registered User
Posts: 1006
Joined: Tue Feb 28, 2006 5:26 pm

Re: global announcement mod sql??

Post by Lumpy Burgertushie » Mon Nov 05, 2007 3:00 pm

it looks like there is no underbar after the prefix.

so, instead of phpbb_config,

it would be;
phpbbconfig

try that and see what happens

robert

danielc2384
Registered User
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Nov 02, 2007 1:07 am

Re: global announcement mod sql??

Post by danielc2384 » Mon Nov 05, 2007 3:42 pm

Awesome Stuff!

Thanks heaps for the help. It's now working :)

Maxberillious
Registered User
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2008 5:46 pm

Re: global announcement mod sql??

Post by Maxberillious » Mon Dec 01, 2008 5:51 pm

i have just read this post and i have ried the same but mine does not fix when i update mine says...

Image
Last edited by darcie on Tue Dec 02, 2008 4:09 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: removed imageshack ad

User avatar
darcie
Community Team
Community Team
Posts: 189
Joined: Mon Mar 12, 2007 7:32 pm
Location: Davis, California
Contact:

Re: global announcement mod sql??

Post by darcie » Tue Dec 02, 2008 4:14 am

Maxberillious, Nuke forums are not the same as phpBB2. EasyMOD or other phpBB2 MODs are not meant for Nuke.

Maxberillious
Registered User
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2008 5:46 pm

Re: global announcement mod sql??

Post by Maxberillious » Tue Dec 02, 2008 2:50 pm

yes i know that, all im saying is i get this error msg as when i try to save config on admin on forums it says that this is missing!!!

User avatar
darcie
Community Team
Community Team
Posts: 189
Joined: Mon Mar 12, 2007 7:32 pm
Location: Davis, California
Contact:

Re: global announcement mod sql??

Post by darcie » Tue Dec 02, 2008 4:39 pm

I'm not quite sure how you expect it to work when the two are not compatible. :? EasyMOD is only for phpBB 2.0.x, as downloaded from phpbb.com. How about trying to add MODs written for nuke forums instead?

Locked