Bug? with Templates

Wondering why that MOD you have won't install correctly? Let's take a look
Forum rules
DO NOT give out any FTP passwords to anyone! There is no reason to do so! If you need help badly enough, create a temporary FTP account that is restricted to only the files that you need help with and give the information for that. Giving out FTP information can be very dangerous!
Locked
User avatar
M.O.B.
Registered User
Posts: 24
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2005 11:17 pm

Re: Bug? with Templates

Post by M.O.B. » Wed Jun 18, 2008 10:00 am

I haven't installed any new hacks recently, but when I come accross this issue again, I will report it here, hopefully I find a hack that is EM compatible.

I figure you checked the original hack, if you compare it to the one I provided above, you will see that I fixed the spelling and other code commands. And it still behaves the same. Just thought you guys would like to know.
Image

User avatar
Lumpy Burgertushie
Registered User
Posts: 1006
Joined: Tue Feb 28, 2006 5:26 pm

Re: Bug? with Templates

Post by Lumpy Burgertushie » Sun Jun 22, 2008 1:49 pm

and, like I said previously. on a fresh board, with more than subSilver installed, I can not reproduce anything like this.

I can not imagine why yours is doing it, but it can't be a bug in EM because it doesn't happen to anyone else.

robert

User avatar
M.O.B.
Registered User
Posts: 24
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2005 11:17 pm

Re: Bug? with Templates

Post by M.O.B. » Sun Jun 22, 2008 6:08 pm

At this point, I am wondering how EM identifies the name of each template that I have installed on my board? Maybe the error is there? Maybe I screwed up with a file that is causing EM to confuse Odyssey for subSilver? Any ideas?
Image

User avatar
Lumpy Burgertushie
Registered User
Posts: 1006
Joined: Tue Feb 28, 2006 5:26 pm

Re: Bug? with Templates

Post by Lumpy Burgertushie » Mon Jun 23, 2008 5:20 am

I don't know exactly . I do know that it checks your server for directory names and opens the ones it needs to and writes to the files it needs to, etc.

here is a wild guess;

in a style, there is a file named theme_info.cfg

at the top of subSilver's version of that file is this:

Code: Select all

$subSilver[0]['template_name'] = "subSilver";
$subSilver[0]['style_name'] = "subSilver";
$subSilver[0]['head_stylesheet'] = "subSilver.css";
if your Odyssey version does not have something similar to that, it could be the problem.

can you tell me where you got the Odyssey style from and I will download it and check it out.

robert

User avatar
M.O.B.
Registered User
Posts: 24
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2005 11:17 pm

Re: Bug? with Templates

Post by M.O.B. » Mon Jun 23, 2008 9:44 am

I can't recall where I got that template, since when I was looking for a unique design, I was looking in various sites for free phpbb templates. I think I must have gotten it at phpbbhacks.com but not sure.

Anyways, guess what? The Odyssey template doesn't have a file called theme_info.cfg, instead it has one called Odyssey23.cfg. I wonder if that is the problem? That EM doesn't know what to do with that file? Because the same exact information that exists in the subSilver's theme_info.cfg exists in the Odyssey's Odyssey23.cfg.

I just exported a new theme_info.cfg for the Odyssey template using the ACP. I will later test to see if I get the same problem as before. I'll report back what I find out. -- I think I must have deleted that file--I can't recall, but I think I was the one that deleted that file recently, and maybe this is why EM started to give me that error.
Image

User avatar
M.O.B.
Registered User
Posts: 24
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2005 11:17 pm

Re: Bug? with Templates

Post by M.O.B. » Mon Jun 23, 2008 10:41 am

I just tested it. When I added the theme_info.cfg inside the Odyssey template, it now doesn't try to find an Odyssey code inside the subSilver template, but now the new error is it's trying to find the Odyssey code in my other template called DarkMOB.

The DarkMOB template is a modified template I created that was cloned by the Odyssey template. But then renamed and colored differently to meet my needs for this new look. This DarkMOB template emulates a lot like the subBlack template. The reason why I just didn't start with the subBlack template is that my site has lots of hacks (MODs) installed and I didn't want to update the subBlack template to have all the hacks I added to my site.

The DarkMOB template does have the theme_info.cfg and it's correct. And I have searched within the code of all the pages on the DarkMOB template to see if there is any string still pointing to Odyssey template, but there isn't one. Any suggestions?
Image

User avatar
Lumpy Burgertushie
Registered User
Posts: 1006
Joined: Tue Feb 28, 2006 5:26 pm

Re: Bug? with Templates

Post by Lumpy Burgertushie » Mon Jun 23, 2008 3:58 pm

DJ Andre wrote:I just tested it. When I added the theme_info.cfg inside the Odyssey template, it now doesn't try to find an Odyssey code inside the subSilver template, but now the new error is it's trying to find the Odyssey code in my other template called DarkMOB.

The DarkMOB template is a modified template I created that was cloned by the Odyssey template. But then renamed and colored differently to meet my needs for this new look. This DarkMOB template emulates a lot like the subBlack template. The reason why I just didn't start with the subBlack template is that my site has lots of hacks (MODs) installed and I didn't want to update the subBlack template to have all the hacks I added to my site.

The DarkMOB template does have the theme_info.cfg and it's correct. And I have searched within the code of all the pages on the DarkMOB template to see if there is any string still pointing to Odyssey template, but there isn't one. Any suggestions?
can you copy the first few lines of your darkmob theme_info.cfg file here in the code tags.

and the same thing for you new theme_info.cfg file for the odyssey style as well.


thanks,
robert

User avatar
M.O.B.
Registered User
Posts: 24
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2005 11:17 pm

Re: Bug? with Templates

Post by M.O.B. » Mon Jun 23, 2008 6:07 pm

Thanks for being so helpful. I am so embarrassed that I thought I was reporting a bug, turns out that I had sabotaged my templates to behave this way. I am humbled by your helpfullness.

Here is the code you need. Please let me know if you need anything else.

Odyssey theme_info.cfg

Code: Select all

<?php

//
// phpBB 2.x auto-generated theme config file for Odyssey
// Do not change anything in this file!
//

$Odyssey[0]['template_name'] = "Odyssey";
$Odyssey[0]['style_name'] = "Odyssey";
$Odyssey[0]['head_stylesheet'] = "Odyssey.css";
$Odyssey[0]['body_background'] = "pc_bg.gif";
$Odyssey[0]['body_bgcolor'] = "000000";
DarkMOB theme_info.cfg

Code: Select all

<?php

//
// phpBB 2.x auto-generated theme config file for DarkMOB
// Do not change anything in this file!
//

$DarkMOB[0]['template_name'] = "DarkMOB";
$DarkMOB[0]['style_name'] = "DarkMOB";
$DarkMOB[0]['head_stylesheet'] = "DarkMOB.css";
$DarkMOB[0]['body_background'] = "pc_bg.gif";
$DarkMOB[0]['body_bgcolor'] = "000000";
***********************************

Hoping to make it easier for you, I have added a few more info you may need:

Here is the code I am trying to install in EM. (Note: I don't plan in installing the code, just testing if the bug I reported is fixed). Click Here

Here is a screenshot of the page I get when it reports the error in EM.
Click Here

Here is the partial code inside the overall_header.tpl in the DarkMOB template:

Code: Select all

</head>
<body bgcolor="{T_BODY_BGCOLOR}" text="{T_BODY_TEXT}" link="{T_BODY_LINK}" vlink="{T_BODY_VLINK}">

<a name="top"></a>

<table width="80%" cellspacing="0" cellpadding="0" border="0" align="center"> 
	<tr> 
		<td class="bodyline"><table width="100%" cellspacing="0" cellpadding="0" border="0">
			<tr> 
				<td>
				<p align="center"><a href="{U_INDEX}">
				<img src="templates/DarkMOB/images/mob_logo.gif" border="0" alt="{L_INDEX}" vspace="1" width="100%" height="200"/></a></td></tr><tr>
				<td align="center" width="100%" valign="middle">
<table width="100%" cellspacing="0" cellpadding="0" border="0">
<tr>
Image

User avatar
Lumpy Burgertushie
Registered User
Posts: 1006
Joined: Tue Feb 28, 2006 5:26 pm

Re: Bug? with Templates

Post by Lumpy Burgertushie » Tue Jun 24, 2008 5:31 am

if this is what is in the original MOD install file, then it is written incorrectly and that is what is causing your problems:

Code: Select all

#
#-----[ FIND ]--------------------------------------
#

            <img src="templates/subSilver/images/mob_logo.gif" border="0" alt="{L_INDEX}" vspace="1" width="100%" height="200"/></a></td></tr><tr>

#
it should be written like this:

Code: Select all

#
#-----[ FIND ]--------------------------------------
#

            <img src="templates/subSilver/images/logo_phpBB.gif" border="0" alt="{L_INDEX}" vspace="1" width="100%" height="200"/></a></td></tr><tr>

#
you would then get a warning in EM that says it can't find logo_phpBB.gif in the DarkMOB/overall_header.tpl file.

warnings will not stop EM from proceeding. critical errors will.

any error in the core files, including subSilver files, will create a critical error and stop EM.

EM can only find standard phpBB files and code. If your styles do not use standard phpbb subSilver based code, then it will not work by itself.

Therefore, you have to manually add those changes to your files that EM can not do.

This is normal behaviour.

I am thinking that you changed the file name in the MOD file to try to get it to work. As you see, that is not how you do it.

You have to leave the MOD written so that it only says the subSilver files/paths, etc.

Then, you have to finish the MOD install by manually making those edits that EM could not.


hope this explains how it all works for you.

robert

User avatar
M.O.B.
Registered User
Posts: 24
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2005 11:17 pm

Re: Bug? with Templates

Post by M.O.B. » Tue Jun 24, 2008 6:26 am

I don't understand. I thought we covered this already when I first presented this issue on my first post. You see, my site's overall_header.tpl all have the following code: (Because a long time ago, I changed that code in order for my to have a larger banner on my site)

subSilver overall_header.tpl
<img src="templates/subSilver/images/mob_logo.gif" border="0" alt="{L_INDEX}" vspace="1" width="100%" height="200"/></a></td></tr><tr>
Odyssey overall_header.tpl
<img src="templates/Odyssey/images/mob_logo.gif" border="0" alt="{L_INDEX}" vspace="1" width="100%" height="200"/></a></td></tr><tr>
DarkMOB overall_header.tpl
<img src="templates/DarkMOB/images/mob_logo.gif" border="0" alt="{L_INDEX}" vspace="1" width="100%" height="200"/></a></td></tr><tr>
And the install is looking for this code:
<img src="templates/subSilver/images/mob_logo.gif" border="0" alt="{L_INDEX}" vspace="1" width="100%" height="200"/></a></td></tr><tr>
But somehow EM tries to find this code on it's own in the DarkMOB template:
<img src="templates/Odyssey/images/mob_logo.gif" border="0" alt="{L_INDEX}" vspace="1" width="100%" height="200"/></a></td></tr><tr>
When it should look for in the DarkMOB template:
<img src="templates/DarkMOB/images/mob_logo.gif" border="0" alt="{L_INDEX}" vspace="1" width="100%" height="200"/></a></td></tr><tr>
Please review the links I provided above. I know it gets confusing, but if you take a very close look, you'll see what I have tried to explain above.

Thanks for all your help. You have been very kind.
Image

Locked