No 'admin' directory - just an 'adm' directory

Having problems installing EM? Let's fix that
Forum rules
DO NOT give out any FTP passwords to anyone! There is no reason to do so! If you need help badly enough, create a temporary FTP account that is restricted to only the files that you need help with and give the information for that. Giving out FTP information can be very dangerous!
Locked
JerseyVoice
Registered User
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Mar 03, 2008 11:25 am

No 'admin' directory - just an 'adm' directory

Post by JerseyVoice » Mon Mar 03, 2008 11:38 am

Am I alone in not having an 'admin' directory within the webpages of my forum install!?

The root directories I have are as follows.... adm, cache, docs, download, files, images, includes, ** The renamed install directory **, language, store, styles

Obviously the EasyMOD files need copying to the 'admin' directory but I don't have one! Whatever should I do!? :o

Also, I note that the 'subSilver' style is required. By default my forum installed with 'prosilver' but the only other style ready for installation was 'subsilver2'. Will subsilver2 work with EasyMOD - maybe it's just a newer version.....

... or maybe I just have an all-round very strange version of phpBB!?


I'm installing EasyMOD to install the YouTube mod (so that YouTube video's can be embedded in posts). After running in to difficulty installing EasyMOD I considered a manual installation of the YouTube mod but noticed that this required the install of the Multiple BBCode mod. A manual installation of this became impossible when the exact chunk of code it was asking me to look for in posting.php was not present!

I'm beginning to wonder what's going on! The forum looks fine and runs perfectly otherwise.

Any help would be gratefully received.

James

User avatar
WhiteWolfSix
Registered User
Posts: 210
Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2005 9:05 am
Location: 48°43′N, 19°08′E

Re: No 'admin' directory - just an 'adm' directory

Post by WhiteWolfSix » Mon Mar 03, 2008 12:04 pm

You are not alone if you run phpBB3 forum. :mrgreen: EasyMOD is for phpBB2 only.
Image
WhiteWolfSix (WW6)

JerseyVoice
Registered User
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Mar 03, 2008 11:25 am

Re: No 'admin' directory - just an 'adm' directory

Post by JerseyVoice » Mon Mar 03, 2008 12:32 pm

Ahhh, I see. Many thanks for that info!

I guess I shouldn't really ask this here but what would be the recommended solution to my problem then?

Use phpBB2.... or is there a way of getting embedded YouTube videos in a phpBB3 forum?

Many thanks, James

User avatar
WhiteWolfSix
Registered User
Posts: 210
Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2005 9:05 am
Location: 48°43′N, 19°08′E

Re: No 'admin' directory - just an 'adm' directory

Post by WhiteWolfSix » Mon Mar 03, 2008 2:24 pm

This is not a proper place but answer is very simple. Go to ACP to Posting tab and chose BBCodes. Add new bbcode:

BBCode usage:

Code: Select all

[youtube]{TEXT}[/youtube]
HTML replacement:

Code: Select all

<object width="425" height="350"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/{TEXT}"></param><param name="wmode" value="transparent"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/{TEXT}" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" wmode="transparent" width="425" height="350"></embed></object>
Help line:

Code: Select all

[youtube]Asm7WOi8ux8[/youtube]
Submit and it's done. It's simple, isn't it?

For adding youtube use only last part of the url. Example:

This is full url

Code: Select all

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4B0hGyKV9qs
You will use code after =

Code: Select all

4B0hGyKV9qs
It will be like this

Code: Select all

[youtube]4B0hGyKV9qs[/youtube]
Image
WhiteWolfSix (WW6)

JerseyVoice
Registered User
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Mar 03, 2008 11:25 am

Re: No 'admin' directory - just an 'adm' directory

Post by JerseyVoice » Mon Mar 03, 2008 5:15 pm

Superb. Many thanks for your very detailed answer. All is now working well. :-)

James

Locked