won't go past step 1

Having problems installing EM? Let's fix that
Forum rules
DO NOT give out any FTP passwords to anyone! There is no reason to do so! If you need help badly enough, create a temporary FTP account that is restricted to only the files that you need help with and give the information for that. Giving out FTP information can be very dangerous!
Locked
SL0RD
Registered User
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Jan 20, 2008 7:38 pm

won't go past step 1

Post by SL0RD » Sun Jan 20, 2008 8:22 pm

i go to the install.php and click submit then it asks me to to login so i login with my admin account and it just goes back to step 1 and ask for server info help please!!!
P.S. i am new at this

User avatar
Lumpy Burgertushie
Registered User
Posts: 1006
Joined: Tue Feb 28, 2006 5:26 pm

Re: won't go past step 1

Post by Lumpy Burgertushie » Mon Jan 28, 2008 4:32 pm

please explain exactly what you have done so far in a little more detail.

have you uploaded all the files to your server correctly?

are you logged into your board as admin?

once you have done all that, then you can go to the admin/mods/easymod/easymod_install.php file in your browser and fill in the blanks with your ftp information etc.

robert

ICEBreaker42
Registered User
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2008 3:59 pm

Re: won't go past step 1

Post by ICEBreaker42 » Fri Mar 21, 2008 4:15 pm

i've got this same issue:
on the Step 1 page the only two things to choose from are:
what language and

Which of the following choices best describes your phpBB server:
I have FTP access to my phpBB files on the server.
This is a Windows server and I don't have to worry about file permissions.
I don't have FTP access. Have EasyMOD suggest what to do please!

then it loops back to my login page

i unzipped all files to my drive
made the folders using FTP via IE 5.1 to create "/admin/mods" and "/admin/mods/easymod"
then drag/dropped the unzipped files into their proper folders using IE5.1 FTP (ftp://mysite.com/forum/admin/mods/easymod/...etc...)

User avatar
Lumpy Burgertushie
Registered User
Posts: 1006
Joined: Tue Feb 28, 2006 5:26 pm

Re: won't go past step 1

Post by Lumpy Burgertushie » Thu Mar 27, 2008 2:34 pm

ok let's start over.

the only folder you need to create is one named mods.

that should be in you admin folder.

you unzip the easymod zip file to your computer. you should then have one folder named easymod with other files and folders inside it.


then, you upload( drag and drop ) that easymod folder into your new admin/mods folder.
do not try to create all the folders and then move files one or two at at time. do the whole folder all at one time.

then, you should have this;

yourdomain.com/yourphpbb/admin/mods/easymod


then, in your browser, go to;

yourdomain.com/yourphpbb/admin/mods/easymod/easymod_install.php

now, if that is where your easymod files are, the you are ready to install.

make sure you are already logged into your board as admin before you start.

then try again and tell us what happens.

robert

ICEBreaker42
Registered User
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2008 3:59 pm

Re: won't go past step 1

Post by ICEBreaker42 » Thu Mar 27, 2008 11:54 pm

I used IE to FTP to mydomain.com/forum/admin
-deleted the /mods directory :arrow: -no worry, new install. no other mods ...yet
made new /mods directory
Uploaded the easymod folder (newly downloaded, unzipped,)
went to mydomain.com/forum/ and logged into forums (checked log me in every time i visit)
clicked to go to administration
logged into my phpbb administration page.
then put in: mydomain.com/forum/admin/mods/easymod/easymod_install.php
yeay
it loads STEP 1 - I leave it on English, and select -I have FTP access to my phpBB files on the server.
hit GO
...and it goes to the root login, enter adminpassword... back to STEP 1 page, GO...Login...

User avatar
Lumpy Burgertushie
Registered User
Posts: 1006
Joined: Tue Feb 28, 2006 5:26 pm

Re: won't go past step 1

Post by Lumpy Burgertushie » Fri Mar 28, 2008 12:19 am

sounds like you are not really logged in as admin of the board.

can you access the admin panel?

robert

ICEBreaker42
Registered User
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2008 3:59 pm

Re: won't go past step 1

Post by ICEBreaker42 » Fri Mar 28, 2008 5:32 am

...
clicked to go to administration
logged into my phpbb administration page.
then put in: mydomain.com/forum/admin/mods/easymod/easymod_install.php
...

i got to the admin page before getting to the setup STEP 1 page.
Im using the Board administer account, do i need to activate/change/down/up-grade the user?
where would i verify that I'm using the needed account type?- on the admin page Im guessing?

User avatar
Lumpy Burgertushie
Registered User
Posts: 1006
Joined: Tue Feb 28, 2006 5:26 pm

Re: won't go past step 1

Post by Lumpy Burgertushie » Sat Mar 29, 2008 2:50 pm

ICEBreaker42 wrote:...
clicked to go to administration
logged into my phpbb administration page.
then put in: mydomain.com/forum/admin/mods/easymod/easymod_install.php
...

i got to the admin page before getting to the setup STEP 1 page.
Im using the Board administer account, do i need to activate/change/down/up-grade the user?
where would i verify that I'm using the needed account type?- on the admin page Im guessing?
if you are in the admin panel, then you are logged in correctly.
'
robert

User avatar
Lumpy Burgertushie
Registered User
Posts: 1006
Joined: Tue Feb 28, 2006 5:26 pm

Re: won't go past step 1

Post by Lumpy Burgertushie » Sat Mar 29, 2008 2:53 pm

how about a link to the board.

are you on a windows or unix/linux host?

robert

mysticlenz.com
Registered User
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Mar 30, 2008 9:08 am

Re: won't go past step 1

Post by mysticlenz.com » Sun Mar 30, 2008 9:26 am

Dear Robert,
Even i am facing the same issue.I have created mods directory under admin of my phpbb2 installation and copied easymod directory as it is to the mods folder.

I logged into board as admin and while i am on admin cpanel page, i visited the easymod_install.php.Its taking to step 1 to provide the language and ftp details.Once i choose the option its again asking me to log in.I have tried out all the three radio buttons.Mine is windows hosting.

Any valuble inputs?

Thanks in advance :)

Locked