[RFC] Enable gzip by default

These RFCs were either rejected or have been replaced by an alternative proposal. They will not be included in phpBB.
XTF
Registered User
Posts: 49
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2011 6:31 pm

[RFC] Enable gzip by default

Post by XTF » Sun Feb 09, 2014 10:42 pm

Could gzip be enabled by default? It improves page load time (and saves bandwidth), downside *might* be higher CPU usage. But CPU usage is rarely a problem and I think enabling it by default is better.

User avatar
DavidIQ
Customisations Team Leader
Customisations Team Leader
Posts: 1732
Joined: Thu Mar 02, 2006 4:29 pm
Location: Earth
Contact:

Re: [RFC] Enable gzip by default

Post by DavidIQ » Mon Feb 10, 2014 3:53 am

Shared hosting accounts get suspended all the time for high CPU usage due to something they're doing on their site. So using more CPU is definitely an issue for most users.
Image

User avatar
brunoais
Registered User
Posts: 958
Joined: Fri Dec 18, 2009 3:55 pm

Re: [RFC] Enable gzip by default

Post by brunoais » Mon Feb 10, 2014 3:40 pm

I agree with DavidIQ. Anything that can be done to save some CPU cycles in shared hosts (including free hosting) is welcome.
The only exception would be with static content but they are already cached in the client so it wouldn't be that much useful to also cache the gziped version in the server.

XTF
Registered User
Posts: 49
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2011 6:31 pm

Re: [RFC] Enable gzip by default

Post by XTF » Mon Feb 10, 2014 4:12 pm

Bandwidth is frequently an issue on shared hosting as well. How much extra CPU time does gzip really take?

User avatar
Master_Cylinder
Registered User
Posts: 361
Joined: Wed Jul 31, 2013 9:54 pm

Re: [RFC] Enable gzip by default

Post by Master_Cylinder » Mon Feb 10, 2014 6:47 pm

Enough that they put a warning about it in the ACP option to enable it? I agree with the others; leave it disabled, as a default, and enable it if you want/need.
These kids today...
Buy them books, send them to school and what do they do?

They eat the paste. :lol:

User avatar
DavidIQ
Customisations Team Leader
Customisations Team Leader
Posts: 1732
Joined: Thu Mar 02, 2006 4:29 pm
Location: Earth
Contact:

Re: [RFC] Enable gzip by default

Post by DavidIQ » Tue Feb 11, 2014 1:19 am

I host a site that runs Coppermine as part of the phpBB installation and the Coppermine application was using up enough CPU to cause the account to get suspended. Ended up having to disable Coppermine for a while and later upgrading it to resolve some of the issues. Granted I'm not saying that GZip had anything to do with it and Coppermine is not the stablest project around, but it's just an example that high CPU usage suspensions probably happen more often than high bandwidth usage suspensions. It's one of those settings that comes with the product but you enable at your own risk.

Of value might be some statistics on how much more CPU GZip uses in phpBB when enabled just to satisfy the curiosity.
Image

User avatar
A_Jelly_Doughnut
Registered User
Posts: 1780
Joined: Wed Jun 04, 2003 4:23 pm

Re: [RFC] Enable gzip by default

Post by A_Jelly_Doughnut » Tue Feb 11, 2014 1:05 pm

I'm going to guess that GZip is a trivial amount of CPU time compared to phpBB's actual functionality. Loading several pages here at Area51, the generation times (as reported in the footer) are between 0.650s and 0.770s. Gzip will compress a typical HTML page (10kB-20kB) in under 0.005s even on anemic hardware.
A_Jelly_Doughnut

User avatar
Master_Cylinder
Registered User
Posts: 361
Joined: Wed Jul 31, 2013 9:54 pm

Re: [RFC] Enable gzip by default

Post by Master_Cylinder » Tue Feb 11, 2014 8:21 pm

How do you determine "typical?" Is typical a forum with a lot of images or one with few? How long does it take to compress a page full of posts with five 2meg images and 30k characters (half of the default setting for one post), plus avatars, signatures, ranks, etc in it? It might be trivial...maybe not. It's not an issue if it's off by default though.

This page takes .745 and the only images are a few avatars/ranks and 1 sig image, with a small amount of text. Plus it took over 1.2s to edit and redirect back.
These kids today...
Buy them books, send them to school and what do they do?

They eat the paste. :lol:

XTF
Registered User
Posts: 49
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2011 6:31 pm

Re: [RFC] Enable gzip by default

Post by XTF » Tue Feb 11, 2014 8:26 pm

Master_Cylinder wrote:How do you determine "typical?" Is typical a forum with a lot of images or one with few?
You really don't know what you're talking about, do you?

User avatar
Master_Cylinder
Registered User
Posts: 361
Joined: Wed Jul 31, 2013 9:54 pm

Re: [RFC] Enable gzip by default

Post by Master_Cylinder » Tue Feb 11, 2014 8:33 pm

I've only been an IT professional for 20+ years doing network/server administration and management so I might know something. :roll:

Don't get butthurt because I didn't support your idea...
These kids today...
Buy them books, send them to school and what do they do?

They eat the paste. :lol:

Post Reply