[RFC] Create a new user account through the ACP

Note: We are moving the topics of this forum and it will be deleted at some point

Publish your own request for comments/change or patches for the next version of phpBB. Discuss the contributions and proposals of others. Upcoming releases are 3.2/Rhea and 3.3.
User avatar
Vinny
Style Customisations
Style Customisations
Posts: 126
Joined: Thu May 20, 2010 4:01 am
Location: Brazil
Contact:

[RFC] Create a new user account through the ACP

Post by Vinny » Sun May 01, 2011 3:22 pm

The title is pretty obvious, it is possible through the ACP to create a new user account. Based on the tool used in STK "Add user".

The idea came up this topic and can be a very useful feature in the future.

Here a short explanation of this feature by Unknown Bliss:
Unknown Bliss wrote:This was discussed for phpBB 3.1.x here but it was never turned into an RFC.

What is it?
A module in the ACP which allows admins to register/add users.

Use Cases
  • When a board is offline and you need a co-admin to register without having to switch the board on
  • For private and exclusive forums
  • An admin is contact by a user who cannot complete the captcha because they have poor eyesight, they can create the account.
Implementation Frontend
  • A module in the ACP under Users and Groups --> Users
  • It would include a Username field, Email field, Password field, Lanuages, Timezone and Birthday, whether to set change password on login (See RFC here) and a question whether or not to send the new user an email
  • The email would contain the login details (Username, Board URL (and password?)).
Implementation Backend
Essentially an edited version of the MOD by Highway of Life and we had his support in the discussion topic but it has now been taken over by phpbbmodders.net - MOD Link
Last edited by Vinny on Sun Dec 25, 2011 8:36 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Add Unknown Bliss's quote

User avatar
hanakin
Infrastructure Team
Infrastructure Team
Posts: 788
Joined: Sat Dec 25, 2010 9:02 pm
Contact:

Re: [RFC] Create a new user account through the ACP

Post by hanakin » Sun May 01, 2011 6:45 pm

I agree this is very useful, as a development tool but not sure what the advantage would be for the average user please elaborate with scenarios might help your case ;)

User avatar
bonelifer
Community Team
Community Team
Posts: 107
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2005 10:41 am

Re: [RFC] Create a new user account through the ACP

Post by bonelifer » Mon May 02, 2011 1:32 am

Boards where only say "company" employees and clients are allowed to posts. They'd want to disable registration and allow the admin to create accounts for newly "authorized(ie through normal RL memos)" users.

User avatar
Ger
Registered User
Posts: 270
Joined: Mon Jul 26, 2010 1:55 pm
Location: 192.168.1.100
Contact:

Re: [RFC] Create a new user account through the ACP

Post by Ger » Mon May 02, 2011 8:29 am

bonelifer wrote:Boards where only say "company" employees and clients are allowed to posts. They'd want to disable registration and allow the admin to create accounts for newly "authorized(ie through normal RL memos)" users.
+1.

I encounter many professional boards where only accepted clients are welcome for support through the forums. There are also many boards that are only for a restricted group of friends, employees, etc. All those boards want to disable registration but need the occasional addition of new users.
Above message may contain errors in grammar, spelling or wrongly chosen words. This is because I'm not a native speaker. My apologies in advance.

Nelsaidi
Registered User
Posts: 122
Joined: Tue Nov 11, 2008 5:44 pm

Re: [RFC] Create a new user account through the ACP

Post by Nelsaidi » Mon May 02, 2011 12:54 pm


User avatar
DavidIQ
Customisations Team Leader
Customisations Team Leader
Posts: 1731
Joined: Thu Mar 02, 2006 4:29 pm
Location: Earth
Contact:

Re: [RFC] Create a new user account through the ACP

Post by DavidIQ » Mon May 02, 2011 10:02 pm

There is a MOD for this in 3.0.x already:
http://www.phpbb.com/community/viewtopi ... 9&t=580108
It is basically a drop-in MOD and could be a good reference.

Edit: and of course it was mentioned in the referenced topic that Nelsaidi posted... :oops:
Image

User avatar
MichaelC
Development Team
Development Team
Posts: 889
Joined: Thu Jan 28, 2010 6:29 pm

[RFC] Add/Register User in ACP

Post by MichaelC » Tue Dec 20, 2011 4:50 pm

This was discussed for phpBB 3.1.x here but it was never turned into an RFC.

What is it?
A module in the ACP which allows admins to register/add users.

Use Cases
  • When a board is offline and you need a co-admin to register without having to switch the board on
  • For private and exclusive forums
  • An admin is contact by a user who cannot complete the captcha because they have poor eyesight, they can create the account.
Implementation Frontend
  • A module in the ACP under Users and Groups --> Users
  • It would include a Username field, Email field, Password field, Lanuages, Timezone and Birthday, whether to set change password on login (See RFC here) and a question whether or not to send the new user an email
  • The email would contain the login details (Username, Board URL (and password?)).
Implementation Backend
Essentially an edited version of the MOD by Highway of Life and we had his support in the discussion topic but it has now been taken over by phpbbmodders.net - MOD Link
Last edited by MichaelC on Tue Dec 20, 2011 5:45 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Formerly known as Unknown Bliss
psoTFX wrote: I went with Olympus because as I said to the teams ... "It's been one hell of a hill to climb"
No unsolicited PMs please except for quotes.

User avatar
callumacrae
Infrastructure Team
Infrastructure Team
Posts: 1046
Joined: Tue Apr 27, 2010 9:37 am
Location: England
Contact:

Re: [RFC] Add/Register User in ACP

Post by callumacrae » Tue Dec 20, 2011 5:03 pm

+1, I say use the mod
Made by developers, for developers!
My blog


User avatar
MichaelC
Development Team
Development Team
Posts: 889
Joined: Thu Jan 28, 2010 6:29 pm

Re: [RFC] Add/Register User in ACP

Post by MichaelC » Tue Dec 20, 2011 5:25 pm

Ah, sorry, I did do a search and had a look through the forum but didn't see that. Sorry.
Formerly known as Unknown Bliss
psoTFX wrote: I went with Olympus because as I said to the teams ... "It's been one hell of a hill to climb"
No unsolicited PMs please except for quotes.

Post Reply